Announcement: Holder of the Old Age Financial Protection Chair (OAFPC) at SSRC from 9 May to 17 May 2018

Dear YBhg. Datuk / Dato’/ Datin/ Tuan/ Puan,

We are pleased to announce that Professor Dr. Naohiro Ogawa, Holder of the Old Age Financial Protection Chair (OAFPC), Social Security Research Centre (SSRC) will be visiting University of Malaya from 8 May (Tuesday) to 17 May 2018 (Thursday).

Professor Ogawa’s areas of expertise include social protection, fertility, intergenerational transfers and ageing. If you wish to discuss or consult with Professor Ogawa on any of the topics mentioned above, please contact Miss Nurul Diyana Kamarulzaman at 603-7967 3615 or email at for an appointment.


The address is as follows: 

Social Security Research Centre (SSRC)

Annex Building (H09), Faculty of Economics and Administration

University of Malaya

50603 Kuala Lumpur.



Naohiro Ogawa is SSRC’s Holder of the Old Age Financial Protection Chair (OAFPC). He is a professor at Graduate School of Economics, University of Tokyo, and Professor Emeritus at College of Economics, Nihon University. His ongoing project is on Asia’s Intergenerational Equity, Poverty Alleviation and Public Policy at Nihon University Population Research Institute which is funded by the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA). His other project is on Policies for Coping with Declining Fertility and Population Ageing at University of Tokyo funded by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS). He has completed several other projects funded by the Japan Medical Association, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Government of Japan and International Development Research Centre. He is a Member of the United Nations International Technical Advisory Board for the Republic of the Union of Myanmar. His research and consultancy revolves around demographic and social security, fertility, intergenerational transfers, population ageing, and social protection, mainly in Asia. He has published several books and written extensively in academic journals.

Copyright © Universiti Malaya Kuala Lumpur. All Rights Reserved.